Sorry for the delay in the lack of recent post, unfortunately during the winter it’s hard for me to get out and shoot as much as I would like to. A while ago I wrote a post on panning. It has been a learning experience which has continuously interested me over the past few months. I love the spontaneity of what happens as you are shooting while doing street photography. The experience is duplicated while panning as well. Here are some of my favorite shots from a recent trip to San Francisco.

To start my friend Henry and I like to find busy areas to get panning shots, which enables  ample opportunities to perfect the shutter speed and aperture you would like to shoot at for a particular shot. I’ve read how some people set there cameras to particular settings and let the camera do the rest, but for myself it’s a bit more complicated than that. For me I adjust the settings based on how fast or slow the object is going.

During times of traffic or in a busy city like San Francisco you can leave the settings alone because most of the cars are traveling at the same speed. It’s always nice when your settings are right and you can line up the shot you want.  While panning it takes me a few minutes to adjust to the speed of traffic so during that time I fix the settings to align with the shots I have in mind. Henry and I always joke about doing a panning workshop one day, but until then I’ll continue trying to perfect my skills at the art.

One thought on “The Art of Panning Cont..

Leave a Reply

